Tags

, , , , , , ,

bells2

A ring?! A ring…I’m looking at a vintage, silver, gorgeous ring; a vintage, silver, gorgeous, shiny ring–but a ring.

Laying in my giant fluffy bed at my grandparents, I’ve never felt more relaxed. My pillow is damp from my mound of freshly showered hair sprawled out on it and my comforter is pulled up to my chin, my warm breath blowing back into my face; I am not going to sleep, I’m just laying here, relaxing. I cannot remember the last time I was in utter silence. I know this will only be for one night but I am thankful for the seclusion all the same.

Earlier today I sat on the plush living room couch and braided my little sisters hair and listened to her tell me about her day at school while her brand new puppy pranced around our feet, begging to be played with. Each member of my family was crowded in the living room as well, talking over each other, eager to talk to me; it had been too long since I had visited. Feeling smothered with love, I held onto my little sister and told her stories of my childhood while the adults in my family listened.

She sucked in a deep breath then loudly announced that he had sent me a picture of a ring.

My dad had his final divorce hearing in the morning and I was going as a witness, the reason for my being here tonight. He seemed a little tense about the subject since he had not wanted this to happen for a second time but knew it was the right thing to do. I was careful to avoid the subject.

Surrounded by my loved ones, I was at ease. Getting up to re-situate my sitting position (my little sister had decided to share a one person sofa chair with me and I could no longer feel my left hip) I noticed my phone, sitting on the arm of the chair, light up. I had gotten a text message from him. I opened the message and the image on the screen caused my jaw to break off from my skull and hit the wooden floor.

There, on my phone, was a picture of a ring with a message attached saying “Do you like this?”

A ring?! A ring…I’m looking at a vintage, silver, gorgeous ring; a vintage, silver, gorgeous, shiny ring–but a ring.

My father looked amused and a little nauseous, if you can imagine looking both those things at the same time.

Seeing the look on my face, my little sister snatched my phone out of my hands and went running into the kitchen, her giggles bouncing off the walls in the house. Still stunned and somewhat paralyzed, I sat on the couch frowning in objection but unable to move to chase her down before she saw the image.

It was too late.

Just then, she came back into the living room, the phone held high above her head, posed like lady liberty, displaying the image with a smug look on her face. She sucked in a deep breath then loudly announced that he had sent me a picture of a ring.

You could’ve heard a pin drop in that living room.

Then, all at once, everyone was talking in excited whispers, my grandmother taking the phone and looking at the image before passing the device back to me. My father looked amused and a little nauseous, if you can imagine looking both those things at the same time.

I said nothing, just watched as my family started hyperventilating at the idea of me saying my wedding vows.

No one is marching down the aisle yet.

A few hours later I am laying in my fluffy bed in a silent house and I have never been more relaxed. My pillow is damp from my mound of freshly showered hair sprawled out on it and my comforter is pulled up to my chin, my warm breath blowing back into my face; I am not going to sleep, I’m just laying here, relaxing. I cannot remember the last time I was in utter silence. I know this will only be for one night but I am thankful for the seclusion all the same. I like having the bed to myself so I can sprawl out in the middle of it if I so chose. I like not needing to worry about my current appearance and whether or not my hair will turn into a tangled mess from not brushing it.

Grabbing up my phone, I open my messages and go through our conversation until I get to the picture again.

A ring?! A ring…I’m looking at a vintage, silver, gorgeous ring; a vintage, silver, gorgeous, shiny ring–but a ring.

Olivia Red

